Fintechs and mobile banks in Poland compared

Edition: Fintechs and mobile banks in Poland compared — October 2026Updated every month

Short answer: Top pick in our October 2026 ranking: N26 — N26 Standard, scored 9/10. Monthly fee EUR 0; card payments in another currency: 0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate). We compared 6 products; data checked 29 September 2026. Second place: Revolut — Revolut Standard (8.6/10). The order comes only from the published scores, never from commission — details below.

Fintechs and mobile banks in Poland compared — October 2026 ranking

Data checked 29 September 2026

Choosing an app-based account for everyday spending in Poland often comes down to how a provider handles foreign currency, cash withdrawals and deposit protection. This month’s list compares six fintech and mobile bank accounts available to Polish residents, ranked by their published scores.

The ranking below is fixed and reflects the providers’ own published terms, not a recommendation of any single product. Some accounts publish more detail than others, and that gap in published information is itself reflected in the lower scores further down the list.

Readers should treat this as a factual comparison of features such as monthly fees, card currency conversion and licensing, and check each provider’s own terms before deciding what fits their needs.

N26 — N26 Standard: 9/101. N26 — N26 Standard9Revolut — Revolut Standard: 8.6/102. Revolut — Revolut Standard8.6bunq — bunq Free: 7.7/103. bunq — bunq Free7.7Klarna — Klarna Core: 6.7/104. Klarna — Klarna Core6.7ZEN — ZEN Platinum: 6.1/105. ZEN — ZEN Platinum6.1Wise — Wise Account: 4.2/106. Wise — Wise Account4.2
Ranking scores (out of 10) · Data checked 29 September 2026
1

Top pick · October 2026

N26 — N26 Standard

9/ 10

N26 Standard is a free, no-frills euro account that combines zero-fee foreign card spending with the highest published score in this list.

Monthly fee
EUR 0
Card currency conversion
0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
Cash withdrawals
EUR: 2 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): 1.7% of the amount
Licence and protection
bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000
Plans (monthly fee)
Standard EUR 0 · Smart EUR 4.9 · Go EUR 9.9 · Metal EUR 16.9

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • Monthly fee is EUR 0.
  • Card currency conversion is 0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate).
  • The account operates under a bank licence in Germany, with deposits protected up to „bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”.

Watch out for

  • Cash withdrawal terms follow „EUR: 2 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): 1.7% of the amount”, which distinguish between euro withdrawals and other currencies such as PLN.
  • Higher-tier plans (Smart, Go, Metal) carry their own monthly fees, as shown in „Standard EUR 0 · Smart EUR 4.9 · Go EUR 9.9 · Metal EUR 16.9”.
Data checked 29 September 2026

2

Revolut — Revolut Standard

8.6/ 10

Revolut Standard pairs a zero monthly fee with fee-free card spending up to a monthly cap, scoring close behind N26.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate)
Cash withdrawals
up to 5 withdrawals or PLN 800 a month free, then 2% (min. PLN 5)
Licence and protection
bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000
Plans (monthly fee)
Standard PLN 0 · Metal – Forex EUR 0 · Standard – Forex EUR 0 · Plus – Forex EUR 0 · Premium – Forex EUR 0 · Ultra – Forex EUR 0 · Plus PLN 19.99 · Premium PLN 33.99 · Metal PLN 55.99 · Ultra PLN 260

Why it ranks here

  • Monthly fee is PLN 0.
  • Card currency conversion is 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate).
  • The account operates under a bank licence in Lithuania, with deposits protected up to „bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”.

Watch out for

  • Cash withdrawals are covered by the allowance in „up to 5 withdrawals or PLN 800 a month free, then 2% (min. PLN 5)”, after which a fee applies.
  • Paid tiers such as Plus, Premium, Metal and Ultra add features for a fee, as set out in „Standard PLN 0 · Metal – Forex EUR 0 · Standard – Forex EUR 0 · Plus – Forex EUR 0 · Premium – Forex EUR 0 · Ultra – Forex EUR 0 · Plus PLN 19.99 · Premium PLN 33.99 · Metal PLN 55.99 · Ultra PLN 260”.
Data checked 29 September 2026

3

bunq — bunq Free

7.7/ 10

bunq Free offers a free Dutch-licensed account with modest allowances for foreign-currency card spending.

Monthly fee
EUR 0
Card currency conversion
0.5% up to EUR 1,000 a year spent by card in foreign currencies, then 3%
Cash withdrawals
€2.99 per withdrawal
Licence and protection
bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000
Plans (monthly fee)
Free EUR 0 · Core EUR 3.99 · Pro EUR 9.99 · Elite EUR 18.99

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • Monthly fee is EUR 0.
  • The account operates under a bank licence in the Netherlands, with deposits protected up to „bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”.
  • Card currency conversion starts at 0.5% up to EUR 1,000 a year spent by card in foreign currencies, then 3%.

Watch out for

  • Cash withdrawals cost „€2.99 per withdrawal”, with no free allowance mentioned.
  • Foreign-currency card spending above the annual allowance in 0.5% up to EUR 1,000 a year spent by card in foreign currencies, then 3% is charged at a higher rate.
Data checked 29 September 2026

4

Klarna — Klarna Core

6.7/ 10

Klarna Core is a low-cost Swedish bank account with no extra card conversion fee, though it does not support cash withdrawals.

Monthly fee
PLN 9
Card currency conversion
no extra fee (Visa reference rate)
Cash withdrawals
cash withdrawals not available
Licence and protection
bank (Sweden) — deposits protected up to SEK 1,150,000
Plans (monthly fee)
Core PLN 9 · Plus PLN 35 · Premium PLN 65 · Max PLN 150

Why it ranks here

  • Monthly fee is PLN 9.
  • Card currency conversion carries no extra fee (Visa reference rate).
  • Deposits are protected up to „bank (Sweden) — deposits protected up to SEK 1,150,000” under its Swedish banking licence.

Watch out for

  • Cash withdrawals are not available, per „cash withdrawals not available”.
  • Higher plans such as Plus, Premium and Max cost more, as listed in „Core PLN 9 · Plus PLN 35 · Premium PLN 65 · Max PLN 150”.
Data checked 29 September 2026

5

ZEN — ZEN Platinum

6.1/ 10

ZEN Platinum is an e-money account with its own exchange rate model and a lower published score than the accounts above it.

Monthly fee
PLN 9.99
Card currency conversion
ZEN Rate + 0%; +0.4% outside FX market hours (ZEN’s own rate)
Cash withdrawals
free up to PLN 3,600 a month, then 1.5%
Licence and protection
e-money institution (Lithuania) — no deposit guarantee
Plans (monthly fee)
Free PLN 0 · Gold PLN 4 · Platinum PLN 9.99 · Pro PLN 9.99

Why it ranks here

  • Monthly fee is PLN 9.99.
  • Card currency conversion uses ZEN Rate + 0%; +0.4% outside FX market hours (ZEN’s own rate).
  • Cash withdrawals are free up to the monthly allowance in „free up to PLN 3,600 a month, then 1.5%”, then a fee applies.

Watch out for

  • The account is an e-money institution in Lithuania with no deposit guarantee, as stated in „e-money institution (Lithuania) — no deposit guarantee”.
  • The score of 6.1/10 reflects limited published detail on some costs; readers should check ZEN’s terms for specifics.
Data checked 29 September 2026

6

Wise — Wise Account

4.2/ 10

Wise Account is a low-fee e-money account whose lower score reflects limited published detail on several costs.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Licence and protection
e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee

Why it ranks here

  • Monthly fee is PLN 0.
  • Funds are safeguarded under an e-money institution licence, as noted in „e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee”.

Watch out for

  • Card currency conversion and cash withdrawal figures are not published here; readers should check the provider’s terms for these costs.
  • The score of 4.2/10 is lower than the other accounts in this list, reflecting that gap in published information.
Data checked 29 September 2026

Side by side

Figures from providers’ published pages. Order by score only. Data checked 29 September 2026.
# Product Monthly fee Card currency conversion Cash withdrawals Licence and protection Score
1 N26 — N26 Standard EUR 0 0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate) EUR: 2 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): 1.7% of the amount bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 9
2 Revolut — Revolut Standard PLN 0 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate) up to 5 withdrawals or PLN 800 a month free, then 2% (min. PLN 5) bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 8.6
3 bunq — bunq Free EUR 0 0.5% up to EUR 1,000 a year spent by card in foreign currencies, then 3% €2.99 per withdrawal bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 7.7
4 Klarna — Klarna Core PLN 9 no extra fee (Visa reference rate) cash withdrawals not available bank (Sweden) — deposits protected up to SEK 1,150,000 6.7
5 ZEN — ZEN Platinum PLN 9.99 ZEN Rate + 0%; +0.4% outside FX market hours (ZEN’s own rate) free up to PLN 3,600 a month, then 1.5% e-money institution (Lithuania) — no deposit guarantee 6.1
6 Wise — Wise Account PLN 0 not disclosed not disclosed e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee 4.2

How we rate this ranking

Each product gets a score out of 10 from the criteria below. Figures come only from the providers’ published pages; anything we could not confirm counts against the score instead of being guessed. Commission never enters the score.

  • Card payments in foreign currency35%
  • Monthly fee of the plan25%
  • Cash withdrawals20%
  • Deposit protection20%

Questions

Which of these accounts has no monthly fee?

N26 Standard, Revolut Standard, bunq Free and Wise Account each list a monthly fee of EUR 0, PLN 0, EUR 0 and PLN 0 respectively.

Are deposits protected on all these accounts?

N26, Revolut and bunq operate as banks, with deposits protected up to „bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”, „bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000” and „bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”. Klarna is also protected up to „bank (Sweden) — deposits protected up to SEK 1,150,000”. ZEN and Wise operate as e-money institutions, per „e-money institution (Lithuania) — no deposit guarantee” and „e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee”, without a deposit guarantee.

How do these accounts compare on card spending abroad?

N26 charges 0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate), Revolut charges 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate), Klarna applies no extra fee (Visa reference rate), bunq applies 0.5% up to EUR 1,000 a year spent by card in foreign currencies, then 3%, and ZEN applies ZEN Rate + 0%; +0.4% outside FX market hours (ZEN’s own rate). Wise does not publish a comparable figure here, so its terms should be checked directly.

This page describes products; it is not financial or investment advice. Check the provider’s current terms before opening an account.

Previous editions