Updated 3 October 2026 Data checked 25 September 2026

Best debit cards for paying abroad from Poland — September 2026

Illustration: comparing financial products

Data checked 25 September 2026

Paying by card abroad or shopping in foreign currencies can bring extra costs beyond the price tag, including monthly account fees, currency conversion charges and cash withdrawal limits. This comparison looks at ten debit card accounts available to people in Poland, ranking them by a fixed set of published weights that take these factors into account.

The order below is fixed and reflects the scores shown next to each provider. A higher score does not always mean a lower fee on every single feature; it reflects the overall picture across fees, conversion charges, withdrawal terms and account protection.

Some providers do not publish every figure needed for the comparison. Where that is the case, it is stated plainly, and readers are pointed to the provider’s own terms rather than a filled-in guess.

N26 — N26 Go: 9.1/101. N26 — N26 Go9.1Wise — Wise Account: 8.7/102. Wise — Wise Account8.7Millennium — Konto Millennium 360°: 8/103. Millennium — Konto Millennium 360°8Revolut — Revolut Standard: 8/104. Revolut — Revolut Standard8bunq — bunq Elite: 7.9/105. bunq — bunq Elite7.9UniCredit — Konto osobiste UniCredit: 7.5/106. UniCredit — Konto osobiste UniCredit7.5mBank — Visa Podróże: 6.7/107. mBank — Visa Podróże6.7Pekao — Promocja Podróżna: 5.4/108. Pekao — Promocja Podróżna5.4Alior — Konto dla młodych: 5.3/109. Alior — Konto dla młodych5.3Erste — Karta debetowa Visa Platinum: 4.6/1010. Erste — Karta debetowa Visa Platinum4.6
Ranking scores (out of 10) · Data checked 25 September 2026
1

Top pick · September 2026

N26 — N26 Go

9.1/ 10

N26 Go tops the list, combining a fee-free approach to card conversion with a bank licence and clear withdrawal allowances.

Monthly fee
EUR 9.9
Card currency conversion
0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
Cash withdrawals
EUR: 5 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): no N26 fee
Licence and protection
bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • Card currency conversion is set at 0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
  • Cash withdrawals follow the terms in „EUR: 5 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): no N26 fee”, with no N26 fee on non-EUR withdrawals
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with deposit protection as described in „bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • A monthly fee of EUR 9.9 applies regardless of usage
  • Once the free EUR withdrawal allowance in „EUR: 5 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): no N26 fee” is used up, a per-withdrawal charge applies
Data checked 25 September 2026

2

Wise — Wise Account

8.7/ 10

Wise Account has no monthly fee and one of the lowest card conversion charges on this list.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
0.26% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
Cash withdrawals
free up to PLN 1,000 a month, then 2.69% of the amount above
Licence and protection
e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee

Why it ranks here

  • No monthly fee is charged, as shown in PLN 0
  • Card currency conversion is charged at 0.26% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
  • Cash withdrawals are free up to the monthly limit in „free up to PLN 1,000 a month, then 2.69% of the amount above”

Watch out for

  • Above the free withdrawal allowance in „free up to PLN 1,000 a month, then 2.69% of the amount above”, a percentage charge applies to the amount over that limit
  • Wise operates as an e-money institution rather than a bank, so protection follows the safeguarding terms in „e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee”, not a deposit guarantee
Data checked 25 September 2026

3

Millennium — Konto Millennium 360°

8/ 10

Konto Millennium 360° has no monthly fee and a conversion charge that only applies above a monthly spending threshold.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 2% (Visa/Mastercard rate)
Cash withdrawals
PLN 0 or PLN 5 (the fee table does not say which applies when)
Licence and protection
bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF · Promotion terms: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • No monthly fee is charged, as shown in PLN 0
  • Card currency conversion follows the terms in 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 2% (Visa/Mastercard rate), with no charge below the stated monthly threshold
  • The account carries a bank licence with BFG protection as described in „bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • Above the threshold in 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 2% (Visa/Mastercard rate), a conversion charge applies
  • The published fee table does not clearly state which of the two withdrawal fees in „PLN 0 or PLN 5 (the fee table does not say which applies when)” applies in which case, so this is worth checking directly with the provider
Data checked 25 September 2026

4

Revolut — Revolut Standard

8/ 10

Revolut Standard has no monthly fee, a threshold-based conversion charge and a limited free withdrawal allowance.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate)
Cash withdrawals
up to 5 withdrawals or PLN 800 a month free, then 2% (min. PLN 5)
Licence and protection
bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000

Why it ranks here

  • No monthly fee is charged, as shown in PLN 0
  • Card currency conversion follows the terms in 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate), with no charge below the stated monthly threshold
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with deposit protection as described in „bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • Above the threshold in 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate), a conversion charge applies
  • Once the free withdrawal allowance in „up to 5 withdrawals or PLN 800 a month free, then 2% (min. PLN 5)” is used, a percentage charge with a stated minimum applies
Data checked 25 September 2026

5

bunq — bunq Elite

7.9/ 10

bunq Elite offers a fixed number of free withdrawals each month but carries a higher overall cost than the accounts ranked above it.

Monthly fee
EUR 18.99
Card currency conversion
0.5% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
Cash withdrawals
first 6 withdrawals a month free, then a fee per bunq price list
Licence and protection
bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000

Why it ranks here

  • Cash withdrawals are free up to the monthly allowance described in „first 6 withdrawals a month free, then a fee per bunq price list”
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with deposit protection as described in „bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • A monthly fee of EUR 18.99 applies
  • Card currency conversion is charged at 0.5% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate)
Data checked 25 September 2026

6

UniCredit — Konto osobiste UniCredit

7.5/ 10

Konto osobiste UniCredit has no monthly fee and no bank charge on cash withdrawals, though the conversion terms vary by currency pair.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
0.5% margin (0% for EUR and other listed pairs), interbank rate
Cash withdrawals
no bank fee
Licence and protection
bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • No monthly fee is charged, as shown in PLN 0
  • Currency conversion follows the margin described in 0.5% margin (0% for EUR and other listed pairs), interbank rate, which is set at zero for the listed currency pairs
  • No bank fee applies to cash withdrawals, as stated in „no bank fee”

Watch out for

  • Outside the currency pairs listed in 0.5% margin (0% for EUR and other listed pairs), interbank rate, a conversion margin applies, so it is worth checking the provider’s current list
Data checked 25 September 2026

7

mBank — Visa Podróże

6.7/ 10

Visa Podróże from mBank has no cash withdrawal fee, but published information on the monthly fee is missing from this comparison.

Card currency conversion
0% (provider’s own rate)
Cash withdrawals
0 zł
Licence and protection
bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000

Why it ranks here

  • Card currency conversion uses the provider’s own rate, as described in 0% (provider’s own rate)
  • Cash withdrawals carry no fee, as shown in „0 zł”
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with BFG protection as described in „bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • No monthly fee figure is published for this account, which counts against its score; this is worth confirming directly with mBank
  • Conversion uses the provider’s own rate rather than a market rate, so the terms in 0% (provider’s own rate) are worth checking before relying on this card abroad
Data checked 25 September 2026

8

Pekao — Promocja Podróżna

5.4/ 10

Promocja Podróżna from Pekao has no monthly fee, but its conversion and withdrawal charges are higher than most accounts on this list.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
1.35%
Cash withdrawals
2,5% min 6 zł / 0 zł
Licence and protection
bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF · Promotion terms: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • No monthly fee is charged, as shown in PLN 0
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with BFG protection as described in „bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • Card currency conversion is charged at 1.35%
  • Cash withdrawals carry a percentage fee with a stated minimum, as shown in „2,5% min 6 zł / 0 zł”
Data checked 25 September 2026

9

Alior — Konto dla młodych

5.3/ 10

Konto dla młodych from Alior has no monthly fee and no card conversion charge, ranking lower mainly due to unclear withdrawal terms.

Monthly fee
PLN 0
Card currency conversion
0%
Cash withdrawals
5 zł – 0 zł z aktywną korzyścią
Licence and protection
bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000

Why it ranks here

  • No monthly fee is charged, as shown in PLN 0
  • Card currency conversion is charged at 0%
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with BFG protection as described in „bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • The withdrawal fee terms in „5 zł – 0 zł z aktywną korzyścią” depend on an active benefit condition that is not fully explained here, so this is worth checking with Alior directly
Data checked 25 September 2026

10

Erste — Karta debetowa Visa Platinum

4.6/ 10

Karta debetowa Visa Platinum from Erste ranks lowest on this list, largely because a monthly fee figure is not published.

Card currency conversion
0%
Cash withdrawals
0 zł
Licence and protection
bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000

Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF

Why it ranks here

  • Card currency conversion is charged at 0%
  • Cash withdrawals carry no fee, as shown in „0 zł”
  • The account is backed by a bank licence with BFG protection as described in „bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000”

Watch out for

  • No monthly fee figure is published for this account, which counts against its score; this is worth confirming directly with Erste
Data checked 25 September 2026

Side by side

Figures from providers’ published pages. Order by score only. Data checked 25 September 2026.
# Product Monthly fee Card currency conversion Cash withdrawals Licence and protection Score
1 N26 — N26 Go EUR 9.9 0% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate) EUR: 5 free withdrawals a month, then €2 each; other currencies (e.g. PLN): no N26 fee bank (Germany) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 9.1
2 Wise — Wise Account PLN 0 0.26% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate) free up to PLN 1,000 a month, then 2.69% of the amount above e-money institution — funds safeguarded, no deposit guarantee 8.7
3 Millennium — Konto Millennium 360° PLN 0 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 2% (Visa/Mastercard rate) PLN 0 or PLN 5 (the fee table does not say which applies when) bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000 8
4 Revolut — Revolut Standard PLN 0 0% up to PLN 5,000 a month, then 1% (Revolut rate) up to 5 withdrawals or PLN 800 a month free, then 2% (min. PLN 5) bank (Lithuania) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 8
5 bunq — bunq Elite EUR 18.99 0.5% (Visa/Mastercard or market rate) first 6 withdrawals a month free, then a fee per bunq price list bank (Netherlands) — deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 7.9
6 UniCredit — Konto osobiste UniCredit PLN 0 0.5% margin (0% for EUR and other listed pairs), interbank rate no bank fee bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000 7.5
7 mBank — Visa Podróże not disclosed 0% (provider’s own rate) 0 zł bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000 6.7
8 Pekao — Promocja Podróżna PLN 0 1.35% 2,5% min 6 zł / 0 zł bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000 5.4
9 Alior — Konto dla młodych PLN 0 0% 5 zł – 0 zł z aktywną korzyścią bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000 5.3
10 Erste — Karta debetowa Visa Platinum not disclosed 0% 0 zł bank (Poland) — BFG protection up to EUR 100,000 4.6

How we rate this ranking

Each product gets a score out of 10 from the criteria below. Figures come only from the providers’ published pages; anything we could not confirm counts against the score instead of being guessed. Commission never enters the score.

  • Currency conversion fee on card payments50%
  • Cash withdrawals25%
  • Monthly fee15%
  • Deposit protection10%

Questions

What does the card currency conversion fee actually cover?

It is the charge applied when a card payment or online purchase is made in a currency other than the account’s home currency. Some providers charge nothing up to a limit and then apply a percentage above it, so it helps to check the exact terms for each account.

Are these accounts protected if the bank or provider fails?

Most accounts on this list are issued by banks with deposit protection up to the amount stated in their licence and protection details. Wise operates as an e-money institution, where customer funds are safeguarded rather than covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

How do free cash withdrawal allowances work?

Several providers offer a set number of free withdrawals or a free amount each month, after which a fee applies. The exact allowance and any minimum charge vary by provider, so it is worth checking the current terms before relying on cash withdrawals abroad.

This page describes products; it is not financial or investment advice. Check the provider’s current terms before opening an account.