Data checked 24 September 2026
Choosing a first bank account is one of the more practical decisions students and young adults make when starting further education, part-time work or a first job in Poland. Most providers aimed at this age group waive the standard monthly account fee and card fee, but they differ in sign-up bonuses, card costs abroad and how clearly they publish their terms.
This comparison looks at five accounts marketed to young people, ranked by a fixed scoring order based on published weights. The scores reflect how much detail each provider makes public, so an account with a lower score may simply have withheld certain figures rather than being more expensive.
Readers should check the current terms and conditions directly with each bank before opening an account, since bonus rules and card fee conditions can change and are only summarised here.
PKO BP — PKO Konto dla Młodych
The highest-scoring account in this list, with no monthly or card fee and the largest published sign-up bonus.
- Monthly fee
- PLN 0
- Card fee / month
- PLN 0
- Sign-up bonus
- up to PLN 600
- Offer ends
- 30 September 2026
Promotion terms: PDF
Why it ranks here
- Monthly fee of PLN 0 and card fee of PLN 0.
- Sign-up bonus of up to PLN 600, available until 30 September 2026.
- Score of 7.6/10 is the highest among the accounts compared here.
Watch out for
- The bonus depends on ongoing app logins and card transactions each month, as set out in „Otwarcie konta online z kartą, wpisanie kodu LATO, zgoda na marketing elektroniczny. W każdym z 5 kolejnych miesięcy: logowanie do IKO min. 1 raz i min. 1 transakcja bezgotówkowa kartą. Nagroda II wymaga otrzymania Nagrody I we wszystkich 5 miesiącach.”; check the provider’s terms for the exact schedule.
- A second bonus payment requires meeting the first payment’s conditions in every qualifying month.
Alior — Konto dla młodych
A fee-free account with no currency conversion charge, ranked second overall.
- Monthly fee
- PLN 0
- Card fee / month
- PLN 0
- Sign-up bonus
- PLN 300
- Offer ends
- 31 March 2027
- Card currency conversion
- 0%
Why it ranks here
- Monthly fee of PLN 0 and card fee of PLN 0.
- Sign-up bonus of PLN 300, available until 31 March 2027.
- Card currency conversion fee of 0%, which may suit spending abroad.
Watch out for
- Score of 6.9/10 is lower than the top-ranked account; check current eligibility rules for the bonus with the provider.
Erste — Konto Smart – oferta dla młodych 13 – 17 lat
A basic no-fee account for a younger age bracket, with limited published detail beyond the monthly fee.
- Monthly fee
- PLN 0
Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF
Why it ranks here
- Monthly fee of PLN 0.
- Positioned for a younger age group within the broader youth account category.
Watch out for
- Card fee, sign-up bonus and offer-end details are not published, which affects the score of 6.5/10.
- Readers should check Erste’s current terms for age eligibility and card conditions.
mBank — eKonto możliwości 18-24
A no-fee account with a modest bonus, though the linked travel card carries conditional charges.
- Monthly fee
- PLN 0
- Card fee / month
- PLN 0
- Sign-up bonus
- up to PLN 300
- Offer ends
- 31 March 2027
- Card currency conversion
- 5.9%
Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF
Why it ranks here
- Monthly fee of PLN 0 and card fee of PLN 0.
- Sign-up bonus of up to PLN 300, available until 31 March 2027.
Watch out for
- The Visa Podróże card fee depends on monthly transaction activity, as described in „karta Visa Podróże: do 16.06.2026 r. 12 zł miesięcznie; od 17.06.2026 r. 0 zł jeśli w danym miesiącu transakcje bezgotówkowe za min. 350 zł dowolną kartą debetową i/lub kredytową z oferty dla klientów indywidualnych, w pozostałych przypadkach 12 zł”; check the current terms.
- Card currency conversion fee of 5.9% is higher than most other accounts compared here.
VeloBank — VeloKonto 18-26
The lowest-ranked account in this list, still fee-free but with the smallest published sign-up bonus.
- Monthly fee
- PLN 0
- Card fee / month
- PLN 0
- Sign-up bonus
- PLN 100
- Offer ends
- 30 November 2026
- Card currency conversion
- 2%
Fees supplemented from the provider’s fee table: PDF
Why it ranks here
- Monthly fee of PLN 0 and card fee of PLN 0.
- Sign-up bonus of PLN 100, available until 30 November 2026.
- Card currency conversion fee of 2%.
Watch out for
- The card fee waiver depends on age or monthly transaction count, as set out in „karta: 0 PLN jeśli masz mniej niż 26 lat lub w poprzednim miesiącu wykonano min. 5 transakcji bezgotówkowych kartą/BLIK (zamiast 7 PLN)”; check the provider’s terms for details.
Side by side
| # | Product | Monthly fee | Card fee / month | Sign-up bonus | Offer ends | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PKO BP — PKO Konto dla Młodych | PLN 0 | PLN 0 | up to PLN 600 | 30 September 2026 | 7.6 |
| 2 | Alior — Konto dla młodych | PLN 0 | PLN 0 | PLN 300 | 31 March 2027 | 6.9 |
| 3 | Erste — Konto Smart – oferta dla młodych 13 – 17 lat | PLN 0 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 6.5 |
| 4 | mBank — eKonto możliwości 18-24 | PLN 0 | PLN 0 | up to PLN 300 | 31 March 2027 | 6.4 |
| 5 | VeloBank — VeloKonto 18-26 | PLN 0 | PLN 0 | PLN 100 | 30 November 2026 | 6.2 |
How we rate this ranking
Each product gets a score out of 10 from the criteria below. Figures come only from the providers’ published pages; anything we could not confirm counts against the score instead of being guessed. Commission never enters the score.
- Monthly fee45%
- Sign-up bonus ("up to" counts half)35%
- Known conditions20%
Questions
Do these student accounts charge a monthly fee?
Based on published figures, all five accounts list a monthly fee of PLN 0, PLN 0, PLN 0, PLN 0 and PLN 0 respectively, though conditions attached to linked cards can vary.
Which account offers the largest sign-up bonus?
PKO BP lists a bonus of up to PLN 600, the highest published figure among the accounts compared, subject to the conditions described in „Otwarcie konta online z kartą, wpisanie kodu LATO, zgoda na marketing elektroniczny. W każdym z 5 kolejnych miesięcy: logowanie do IKO min. 1 raz i min. 1 transakcja bezgotówkowa kartą. Nagroda II wymaga otrzymania Nagrody I we wszystkich 5 miesiącach.”.
Are there fees for using the card abroad?
Currency conversion fees vary: Alior lists 0%, VeloBank lists 2%, and mBank lists 5.9%. PKO BP and Erste do not publish this figure, so readers should check directly with the provider.
This page describes products; it is not financial or investment advice. Check the provider’s current terms before opening an account.
